Review : The Healthy Gluten-Free Life by Tammy Credicott

This past September when I saw my new gastro, he advised me to go dairy free, egg free, soy free, and gluten-free (which I was already with Celiac Disease) , due to the EoE diagnosis my previous gastro doctor seemed to have “missed” on my biopsy results, from 2008.

I left his office just as confused as the day I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease. I of course sat up late at night doing research on EoE, what the diet entails, on top of the gastroparesis diet. I was up to my eyeballs in research and was overwhelmed, pissed off, angry, hungry, and as weird as it sounds relieved that there was indeed something wrong with me and I wasn’t losing my mind, again.

The next day I headed into Barnes & Noble for The Healthy Gluten-Free Life book by Tammy Credicott. I have met Tammy in person a couple of years back at a Celebrate Celiac event in Miami along with her family and she is just the biggest sweetheart & most down to earth person you will ever meet. She truly wants to help others by sharing her Husbands story and their reason behind why their entire family went gluten-free and paleo. 

In her book you will find 200 recipes that are gluten-free, dairy-free, soy-free and egg-free. Tammy goes on to talk about their pantry, why they chose to buy as organic as possible. She goes into detail about each gluten-free flour, flour substitutions, what you can use for natural sweeteners, and the most helpful thing to me , dairy and egg free substitutes.

Next you will find her book breaks down into 7 chapters of recipes :

  • breakfasts
  • entrées
  • sides
  • sauces/rubs/salad dressings
  • baking/desserts/snacks (our favorite chapter in this house) 🙂
  • beverages/smoothies (boy this comes in handy with my gastroparesis!)
  • school lunch ideas

Some of our family favorite recipes are :

  • Pancakes – these by far in the past 7 years are THE best gluten-free & everything free pancakes I have made to date. They taste like actual gluten filled buttermilk pancakes. I make two batches, one to eat for breakfast or dinner & one to freeze for the kids to grab and go before school.
  • Breakfast stack. One word : bacon
  • Grilled lime chicken
  • P.F. Chicken lettuce cups
  • Bacon-Wrapped Chicken bites. Again, bacon.
  • Flank steak rub
  • Mini meat loaf
  • Filet O’ GF Fish Sandwiches
  • Pizza Crust
  • Spaghetti and pizza sauce ( I make several batches to use that day and freeze the rest)
  • Graham Crackers
  • Strawberry smoothie
  • Pumpkin martini (yes you read that correctly)

I can not tell you how helpful this book has been as I am transitioning into another dietary lifestyle. I use her cook book weekly along with the Gluten-Free On A Budget cook book. I of course could go on Pinterest and print recipes out or if I had a tablet just simply use that for the recipes, but I am old school and love having cook books at the ready right next to my stove.

If you have bought this book what is your favorite recipe? What did you find most helpful from this book?

Want to buy this book? Barnes & Noble paperback $24.26 Nook Book $9.99, Books-A-Million $23.06, Amazon 

You can find more of Tammy here :  website , Twitter, Instagram, Facebook

* I purchased this book with my own money. The thoughts and opinions of this review are my own. I was not compensated for this review. 

 

Amazon.com – Read eBooks using the FREE Kindle Reading App on Most Devices

Leave a Reply

